Founders of the STR-Institute:
The Swiss Transportation Research Institute Ltd. was founded to accommodate the conceptional Research and Development of the VacTrain and the Patent Protection. Encouragement was offered by ETH Professor Heinrich Brändli,
and numerous other scientists and engineers. Members of the board are:
Aurelius Christian Bahman, Materials Scientist / Engineer (member)
Matthias Schifferli, Dipl. Ing. ETH / SIA / VSS (member)
Ramon Alexander Bahman, Dr. Ing. ETH / PhD (president)

Inventors of the Vacuum Train / VacTrain:
The vacuum-train is attributed to Robert Goddard (WPI-Thesis 1905; patent 1945).
It was re-invented by Rodolphe Nieth for the Swissmetro project (1974).
The VacTrain Project was initiated by Aurelius, Severin and Ramon Bahman (2010)

The Feasibility of Swissmetro / VacTrain / SwissMetro-NG was confirmed many times over:
The feasibility of Swissmetro was confirmed in a comprehensive study involving 18 Professors and their Institutes at the Swiss Federal Institutes of Technology (ETHZ and EPFL) and numerous Swiss Engineering Consultants (1980-2009).
The following Persons / Institutions / Companies re-confirmed the feasibility and that of the VacTrain / SwissMetro-NG:
Heinrich Brandli, Professor em. ETH (2015).
Jorg Waldvogel, Professor em. ETH (2022).
Matthias Schifferli, Dipl. Ing. ETH / SIA / VSS, CEO and leading Engineer at Schifferli Ltd (2020).
Conrad Jauslin, Dipl. Ing. ETH, MSc. and PhD Colorado State University, President of Jauslin + Stebler Ltd (2022).

SwissMetro-NG Project:
The  Swissmetro-NG project aims to connect the Swiss urban Centres with a system which reflects our modern time and age. It is based on the technology developed by Rodolphe Nieth and the EPFL + ETHZ (1974-2009), and by the Swiss Transportation Research Institute (since 2010). It is being promoted by the non-profit SwissMetro-NG association:



Address (ZH):
Swiss Transportation Research Institute
Obere Buhlstrasse 21, CH-8700 Kusnacht-ZH

info [at]